My Top 7 Natural Cold-Busters…

Here’s a video I made for this entry. It’s my first so please excuse the nervous energy 🙂

http://youtu.be/no_jdf2QKHU

My Top 7 Natural Cold-Busters

Taken from my upcoming book…Broke and Healthy On the Way to Wealthy (December 2013)

  1. Acknowledge the fact that your body needs attention now 🙂
  2. Blend a healing drink. Here’s what I use to attack every cold. It works every time. You’ll feel better fastest when you drink it as soon as the cold symptoms appear. Here’s my recipe. 🙂
  • 1 apple cut in fourths -Use 2 pieces for your smoothie. Eat the rest. The apple tends to thicken the mixture. If you’re okay with that then dump all 4 pieces into your blender (like I do 🙂 )
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 inch of ginger
  • Handful of fresh parsley
  • 2 cloves of garlic (I use more sometimes.)
  • 1 cup water

Blend and drink. It’s not the best tasting Smoothie but your body will love you for it 🙂 The taste doesn’t bother me because I focus on the fact that I will not be getting sick at all 🙂  and… the garlic is strong 😦 (Eat extra parsley to neutralize your breath.) I drink this healing blend as soon as I get home. I drink a second one before bed. I’ll take a third drink of the blend in the morning. Usually after a good night’s sleep I’ll be feeling completely better. However, if many people around me have cold symptoms- coughing/sneezing/sniffles I’ll keep drinking daily from one to three times a day. 🙂

3.  Drink lemon water first thing in the morning and throughout the day. Wash and cut into small pieces that fit easily into a water bottle/Thermos. Fill the bottle with cold/hot water. Sip throughout the day. Lemons cut mucus; it’s a natural bleach. You can add honey to coat and sooth a sore throat. 🙂

4. Plan to rest. Sleep helps you get better faster. While sleeping your body can work on healing itself instead of focusing on the big systems like digestion. 🙂

5. Eat simple foods with lots of nutrients that are easy to digest like vegetables. I tend to go on mono-diets naturally. That is, eating a lot of one kind of food. I may eat a few bananas for snacks throughout the day. Or maybe I’ll make a stir-fry and eat that for all of my meals. 🙂

6. I take a lot of Vitamin C with homemade orange juice. I can take 3 of the 1000mg? capsules 3 times a day. I’ve read that any excess Vitamin C the body does not need is urinated out. Another sign your body doesn’t need as much Vitamin C, I’ve been told is when you begin to have a softer stool. At that point I lessen the number of capsules to just two a day. 🙂

7. Drink lots of fluids to wash away the little invaders in your body. I drink filtered, and electrolyte-filled water, green teas, Tulsi tea (from a company called, Organic India) and ginger tea.( Cut up fresh ginger. Place in a container. Add hot water. Let brew all day. I sip on it throughout the day and keep adding hot water until it becomes weak. Then I add more fresh ginger and allow that to brew so the tea is concentrated again) The primary goal is to get whatever’s bad in you out.  The more you use the restroom the faster your body gets ‘rinsed out.’ 🙂

***Bonus*** 🙂

8. Drink 2oz of Wheatgrass a few times a day to make your body more alkaline. Disease thrives in an acidic environment. Wheatgrass is a major contributor to neutralizing your body temple.

9. Have a great attitude. Believe and speak as if you are well. Smile through the discomfort when you can. 🙂

Here are a list of staples usually found in my refrigerator:  🙂

  1. Fresh Parsley
  2. Fresh Garlic
  3. Carrots- usually organic
  4. Fresh Ginger
  5. Apples- usually organic
  6. Oranges
  7. Almond Milk
  8. Onions
  9. Kale
  10.  Lots of fresh vegetables – a variety of colors often ensures you’re getting a variety/balance of nutrients 🙂
  11. Lemons

On the Counter:

  1. Filtered water (I use a Brita container )
  2. Bananas

In the cabinets: Numerous seeds and beans purchased in bulk at our local Farmer’s Market. These include:

  1. Flaxseeds
  2. Oatbran
  3. Steel cut oats
  4. Raw sugar
  5. Honey
  6. Oat cereals
  7. Almonds
  8. Lentils
  9. Garbanzo beans (for hummus)
  10. And whatever else I’ve found on sale or used for recipes 🙂

Other things that help me feel better:

  • Clean house, desk, car, clear paper clutter, clutter in general
  • Fresh air … crack window for a while
  • Journal  to clear your head of ‘to dos’  …. For me feeling overwhelmed weakens my immune system. It seems as if when I stay in overwhelm for too long my body begins to shut down -feeling more tired/beginning of cold symptoms/over all foggy brain and low energy. I’ve decided, staying in a state of overwhelm makes me sick! I choose to handle overwhelming times by taking the time to step away from the routine, rest and rejuvenate. It’s a necessary part of my healthy living.
  • Get rid of clothes “stuff” you don’t wear/use

Here’s to your Amaaazing Health!

From My Kitchen Cabinet to yours 🙂

Blessings,

Margo xxooxx

One thought on “My Top 7 Natural Cold-Busters…

Leave a Reply

